Image description

PAINTING  IN  ITALY

Established in 2004

FREEPHONE 0808 118 5729

TESTIMONIALS

See what our guests said about our locations

Florence click here

Venice click here

Cortona click here

Saragano click here

Montefalco click here

Lake Garda click here

Sicily click here

Castello di Petroia - click here

THE LOCATION SUPERB

“I thoroughly enjoyed myself. The balance of tuition to excursion was fine but another time I would choose to perhaps stay behind and paint, a personal choice. Marco as a guide was outstanding in his knowledge and enthusiasm! Taxi drivers charming, friendly. I do not think that you could have done anything to improve the experience, the location was superb and the staff outstanding in their helpfulness. Many thanks”. Patricia – Saragano – September 2017


SO GLAD I CAME

"Really enjoyed my stay in Umbria last week.  Food and wine and accommodation top notch.  My painting colleagues were all lovely and friendly and we all gelled.  John Booth an excellent tutor by being both supportive, positive and good company.  So very glad I came.  Thank you". - Trish - Saragano - September 2017 


WE LOVED IT

"Both Tom and I much enjoyed our time with Painting in Italy. Our fellow holiday makers were an excellent mix of friendly and interesting people and very easy to get on with.all the holiday was all we had hoped for and more. Louisa is very special and a wonderful guide.  Thank you for a great time. We will be talking about it for a very long time. We loved it. And I hope we can enjoy one of your holidays in the future". Simon - Cortona - September 2017  

TOP NOTCH

"Thank you Sheila. . Really enjoyed my stay in Umbria last week.  Food and wine and accommodation top notch. My painting colleagues were all lovely and friendly and we all gelled.  John Booth an excellent tutor by being both supportive, positive and good company. So very glad I came. Thank you".  Tricia - Saragano - September 2017

TERRIFIC HOLIDAY

"Terrific holiday. The Ghirlanda was a wonderful venue. Service and food were excellent and it was the perfect venue for painting. So much to paint in the hotel and Saragano. Jennifer is an exceptional teacher. I learnt so much. Tempted to go again but I feel I should try other venues. I've already booked for Florence portrait painting in April and would like to book another holiday with Painting in Italy in Autumn, finances permitting"! - Saragano - September 2017


I REALLY ENJOYED IT

"I really enjoyed Castello di Petroia. Huge, comfortable accommodation. Good food in interesting, historical surroundings. The weather, as you know, was hot, so thank goodness for the roof terrace. Lots of space to spread out, terrific views in shade with a gentle breeze.  Charles' tutoring was, as expected, most useful/helpful". - Robert - Castello di Petroia July 2017

 

LOVED BEING THERE

"Torri del Benaco was an excellent location. Loved being ther and found it very beautiful. Charles, our tutor, was so warm and helpful. He gave a lot of individual attention. The hotel was very accommodating and provided lovely dining experiences. Missing Torri". -  Sandy - Lake Garda June 2017


WHAT IS NOT TO LIKE!

Great hotel, with very welcoming owners. Perfect location. Good food and wine, both at the hotel and locally. Jenny was an informative and dedicated teacher who is also good company. What is not to like?? Thank you. - Montefalco June 2017

A VERY ENJOYABLE TIME

"Although this was a last minute booking everything worked like clockwork. I had very enjoyable time and met some great people. This has encouraged me to arrange another similar holiday with you again in Italy. Well done!" Regards Frank - Saragano June 2017


A GREAT EXPERIENCE

"Great accommodation with hotel staff friendly and happy to help. Very good food . Good environment for painting and relaxing. Enjoyed excursions to othe towns however not so keen on in depth history of paintings etc. Would have appreciated a bit of time to explore the shops. The artist was helpful and must be commended for managing various different types of media. Altogether a great experience". -  Cortona - June 2017


I LEARNED A LOT

"Laura and Frank were a good team together.... I learned a lot form the class. She was very open with her style of works and very clear on details. I wish I could have stayed longer". Donna - Florence 2017 

EXCELLENT

"Our week in Florence was excellent. The tuition, the atmosphere, and the help from Laura especially, made learning a difficult technique easier.  Good company, good hotel . All round a special week". Penny - Florence 2017

 

REALLY ENJOYED THE PAINTING EXPERIENCE

"I really enjoyed the painting experience. Laura and Frank provided an excellent combination of focussed instruction and conviviality. The meals were great! Thank you for organizing such a wonderful painting holiday". Gordon- Florence 2017 

AS ALWAYS EXCELLENT

"As always excellent organization by Sheila and tuition with Fiona. Hotel Villa Beledere beautiful location, Comfortable, clean room and lovely, cheerful, helpful staff. So, what "more can I say, best of the three memorable holidays I have had with painting in Italy, should certainly go to Taorima Best Wishes for yet another successful season". Coral - Sicily 2017


EXCELLENT SUMS IT UP

"Excellent sums it up. This was one of my best ever holidays. The painting tuition was fantastic - Fiona, generous as ever with her help and encouragement. I really felt I had achieved something by the end of the week. The hotel was spectacular and all of the staff, from the moment I arrived, were outstanding. Thank you for organising every detail. Ten days of this would be absolutely splendid...!" - Sicily 2017


ONE OF THE MOST SUCCESSFUL PAINTING HOLIDAYS I HAVE HAD

I thought this was one of the most successful painting holidays I've experienced. The location was excellent, with many places around the hotel and surrounding area to settle down to painting. The private area where we met each morning was very conducive to a serious approach to the day's art. Fiona was brilliant as usual, encouraging and thoughtful, very aware of our individual needs. The hotel was excellent, friendly, helpful staff, great lunches, if somewhat long winded (but that is the culture I suppose) wonderful views, lovely gardens”. – Trixie Walker – Sicily 2017

 

THIS TRIP WAS PERFECT

"The hotel was beautiful and the tuition was more than helpful. Fiona is very patient and set useful tasks for Clem and I in order to get us out of our comfort zone a bit more. The hotel's food was delicious and it was lovely to have lunch with everyone everyday to catch up on what we've been doing. This trip was perfect and organised very well! Thank you Sheila! – Sicily 2017


A WONDERFUL WEEK

"What a wonderful week. Brilliant guidance and tuition from Fiona Graham-Mackay, in a beautiful setting". - Sicily 2017 

I LOVED THE ART COURSE

"I wanted to drop you a line to say how much we enjoyed our week in Florence. I not only loved the art course, but also learnt so much from Laura - she was a fabulous teacher and so encouraging! Between them, she and Frank looked after us very well - all, no doubt, down to your great planning! Rob enjoyed it very much too - he loves being a free agent to do what he chooses, so I think it was the right choice not to join the 'artists'!  I have been thoroughly inspired by it all and will definitely want to do another holiday that you have organised - although perhaps in a rural location next time". Valerie Florence 2016


I LOVED PAINTING IN VENICE

“I  loved painting there & Phil Hobbs' tuition was excellent, a really nice group of people & great fun. I really think that Sheila organises these holidays very well. This is my third with another booked next year”. October 2016


DEFINITELY BOOKING AGAIN

“I really enjoyed Saragano.  The situation is stunning, and entirely conducive to painting! Jennifer was her usual brilliant self, always on hand to teach, advise and give eminently constructive criticism. The staff were extremely helpful, and the food was really delicious.  I will definitely be booking again”! – Patricia Saragano September 2016


GREAT FUN

“Phil Hobbs' tuition was excellent, a really nice group of people & great fun. I really think that Sheila organises these holidays very well. This is my third with another booked next year”.  Lynne – Venice September 2016


THE HOLIDAY WAS A GREAT SUCCESS

"I thoroughly enjoyed the holiday.  The one-to-one help and tuition from the hotel chef was both fun and informative. The guides on the excursions to Cortona and nearby monastery, to Siena and to the Avignonese Winery were all very knowledgeable, informative and clear in their explanations. The excursions themselves were well-chosen, and the winery visit was particularly spectacular! The hotel facilities and grounds, including swimming pool, were excellent and without exception the staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. The provision of taxis and minibuses was excellent. All in all, the holiday was a great success and I hope to be able to take part in a further Painting in Italy holiday and will in particular look out for activities - cooking in particular - for a non-painting partner". - John, Cortona September 2016

I LEARNT SO MUCH

"As you can see by the five stars I've rated the holiday I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. The situation of the hotel is perfect with such wonderful views to paint that it was hardly necessary to venture out. If you did the village was only just up the road and the walks through the countryside were beautiful. Because our tutor Fiona was so helpful and enthusiastic I learnt so much about all aspects of art". Jill Van Looy - September 2016

ABSOLUTELY SUPERB

"Absolutely superb. Our tutor,Fiona Graham-Mackay, was brilliant: intelligent, warm, and empathetic. She has the gift of enabling students to give the very best of themselves, and to push their boundaries. The hotel chosen (La Ghirlanda) was outstanding: delicious food, impeccable service. Painting in Italy does seem to attract lovely people, and the dynamic between participants was excellent. A holiday to remember". Susan - Saragano September 2016

A VERY PLEASURABLE WEEK FOR A SOLO TRAVELLER

"Charles was an excellent instructor. He not only helped me enormously with my understanding of how to use watercolor, but also provided insightful comments on how to develop the composition and approach the piece from a more abstract perspective - just what I was looking for. The town was charming and the group was a lovely bunch of folks which made it a very pleasurable week for a solo traveler".  Lake Garda August 2016


WE HAD A LOVELY HOLIDAY

"Benaco and Lake Garda were glorious and it was lovely being down in the harbour with very little traffic. Altogether we had a lovely holiday and I look forward to going with "painting in italy" on another occasion".  Lake Garda 2016

MOST ENJOYABLE HOLIDAY

‘It was a very relaxing week with good food and great company. Sarah has inspired me to get painting again after so many years (my husband is delighted!) and I enjoyed the balance of tuition and rest. It was great to be taken out on afternoon trips and dinner in different locations. Overall, it was a most enjoyable week’. - Saragano June 2016

CHRIS FORSEY A SUPER TUTOR

‘This was an excellent holiday, coming at a difficult time for me. Chris Forsey was great fun and good company as well as being a super painter and tutor. Organisation was first class and trips memorable.. I would I've to return to Montefalco especially if Chris was the tutor again’. – Montefalco June 2016 

REALLY FUN WEEK

'Enjoyed the week in Montefalco. Chris Forsey struck just the right balance for me. He is relaxed, with great sense of humour, and his approach to using mixed media inspired me make changes to my own style of painting. The hotel is quirky and I liked the informality and the feeling that we could make it 'our home' for the week. Our hosts couldn't have been more helpful and charming.  The visits were excellent although would have liked more time in Bevagna.  All in all a really fun week with the right size group, and would come again!' -  Montefalco June 2016

 

REALLY ENJOYED MY WEEK

'Really enjoyed my week. Sheila provided very good info prior to departure and made sure I was comfortable.  The lunches and dinners were very good. Chris is an inspiring tutor and I will be going to some of his workshops at home. Thank you for a great week.' Montefalco June 2016

INSPIRATIONAL INSTRUCTOR

'Just wanted to say a big thank you for the wonderful holiday I have just had. 

Sarah Miatt, I have to say was a really inspirational instructor and I can't believe how much I accomplished in just one week. She also looked after all of us exceptionally well'.  Chris - Saragano June 2016

OVERALL BALANCE OF TUITION AND HOLIDAY GOOD

'Good hotel, loved the original features, nicely restored. Great location too. The food at the hotel was very good.  Cortona is a lovely hilltop town & we had an excellent guide who told us interesting things about Cortona & the monastery. Jennifer Johnson our tutor was excellent. She demonstrated techniques & was not only knowledgeable but helped us all in turn. She is a talented artist in her own right and an excellent teacher! Overall the balance of tuition & holiday was good as those who didn't want to work after lunch could opt out & those who wanted to carry on could'.  - Cortona June 2016

EXCELLENT HOLIDAY

'This was an excellent holiday, coming at a difficult time for me. Chris Forsey was great fun and good company as well as being a super painter and tutor. Organisation was first class and trips memorable.. I would I've to return to Montefalco especially if Chris was the tutor again'.   Montefalco June 2016

A TRULY WONDERFUL HOLIDAY

I've had a truly, wonderful holiday -  a dream come true and  made so many delightful new friends whom I hope to bump into again in the not too distant future.

I do compliment you on the choice of hotel and their delightful staff - enjoyed the food too!  Yes, I've had a lovely, lovely, holiday - as I have already said 'a dream come true' and that doesn't happen very often does it?  'Thank you so very, very much'.  Annie - Cortona June 2016


I CANNOT RECOMMEND THE EXPERIENCE HIGHLY ENOUGH

I thought the whole of the holiday excellent and I know it sounds boring but really did rate every experience with 5 stars. I feel I learnt so much from the studio, the excursions were great, although I didn't go to the Uffizi as I was so exhausted that day. However I thought the Pitti Palace was worthy of a 5 star rating. I t hought the hotel was friendly, clean and welcoming and so central for everything. The whole balance of the holiday was well thought out and I cannot recommend the experience highly enough.

 

I THOROUGHLY ENJOYED EVERY MINUTE

Sheila, just wanted to let you know what an absolutely wonderful time I had last week in Florence.  I thoroughly enjoyed every minute.  The hotel was wonderful, the dinners arranged were delicious and the art tuition was the best. Laura is extremely talented as a tutor and both her and Frank were so helpful with arranging anything we wanted to do following our lessons as well as providing tasty snacks and wine every day.   They arranged museum visits, trips to hillside villages, paper marbling, opera, piano recitals etc. etc.  Nothing was too much trouble for them.  No wonder I felt thoroughly spoilt. Thank you and I really hope to attend more of your art holidays. - Sheila Wood - Florence May 2016

 HOPE TO JOIN YOU AGAIN IN THE FUTURE

"I wanted to say how glad I was that I booked this painting workshop with Painting In Italy. Our hosts, Laura & Frank worked so well together to give a novice like myself a renewed confidence in my painting ability.  They  have also given me the practical skills to take my painting and drawing forward, hopefully to another level.  The social side was made all the more enjoyable by the other students that took part in the workshop, and by the efforts of Frank, for whom nothing was too much trouble. Humour was never far from the surface and frequently bubbled over to fits of laughter all round.  Laura was very clear and concise in her tuition, and her encouragement and charm has meant I now miss the 4 hour painting session routine very much. Everything was ready and prepared each morning for us to start painting. Brushes had been washed and paint and medium laid out ready on the palette.

 The hotel was excellent with fresh continental breakfasts, and the car transfer went smoothly as well. All the restaurants served very good food with an excellent menu.  I hope to join you again in the near future and would be happy to recommend this particular workshop to any novice or more experienced painter who wants to learn some classic still life painting techniques".  Ed Harris - Florence November 2015

COMPLETELY WONDERFUL HOLIDAY

"Completely wonderful holiday Shiela's organisation was brilliant and Laura and Frank were wonderful hosts. Laura is an excellent artist and we loved the art classes. Frank was an amazing tour guide and host Thanks to you all".  Emily Harris - Florence November 2015

I WILL RETURN

"Holiday was prefect lovely people. Tuition enthusiastic and understanding and so very helpful. Hotel excellent and it's location first class. I will return, you have been warned" . Bob Benton Florence November 2015

 

REALLY ENJOYED IT

"Really enjoyed it, lovely group, your attention to detail second to none.  Tuition very good, such nice people". - Florence October 2015

TUITION BEYOND EXCELLENT

"Absolutely enjoyable, the group were wonderful the tuition beyond excellent".  - Florence October 2015

GREAT MEMORIES

"I really enjoyed the experience of working in a studio each morning and I appreciated the professionalism of Laura and Frank and the time and effort they put into the week. The whole experience was very enjoyable with some great memories to think over now I'm back home".  - Florence October 2015

ANOTHER GEM OF A HOLIDAY FROM PAINTING IN ITALY

"An amazing week. Laura and Frank are such wonderful people and I learnt a huge amount. Never having painted in oils before, I am now totally converted. The hotel staff couldn't do enough for us and I felt very comfortable there as a woman travelling alone. The hotel is in the heart of Florence, near the Palazzo Vecchio and the studio - an excellent location. The restaurants served beautiful Florentine cuisine, and excellent Chianti! The trips were also very good, and I particularly loved visiting the Vasari Corridor.  Sheila had organised everything down to the tiny set detail, and we didn't need to worry about anything. Another gem of a holiday from "Painting in Italy"! - Florence October 2015

I SHALL DEFINITELY BE BOOKING ANOTHER HOLIDAY NEXT YEAR

"This being the first holiday without my late husband I couldn't have chosen a better place. Everything was organised to perfection, nothing was missed even the weather was perfect. The group of people were great, it was like meeting old friends. My husband and I travelled all over the world but never went to Italy so this holiday was an extremely good introduction. I shall most definitely be booking another painting holiday next year". - Maureen Turner - Saragano September 2015 

VENICE WAS FABULOUS

"Venice was fabulous, so nice to visit it again. Really enjoyed Phil's tutoring, so knowledgeable, patient & I learnt a lot. He has such a nice way about him & nothing was too much trouble. His anecdotes were funny too. Can't praise him enough & what a brilliant painter.  As for the opera....fantastic, great seats, the soprano was outstanding & the buffet was really good too.  So seriously thinking of going again next year, just need to check the dates.

Thank you Sheila as you can tell I really enjoyed the whole experience". Lynne Blore - Venice 2015

WE WOULD LIKE TO DO IT AGAIN

"Just wanted to say how very much we enjoyed our holiday, it was just great and i wanted it to go on!!  Phil was a really super teacher and i think both Michael and i made progress! to the point that we would very much like to do another workshop with Phil to continue with his approach, so, as he is teaching the same class in Venice next year we would like to do it again!! " - Lynne Roche Venice September 2015 

IT WAS VERY GOOD VALUE

"Extremely well organised, everything went smoothly and we didn't have to think about anything! The restaurants and excursions were excellent and we would not have found them if we had been independent travellers. The company and tuition was great and although the holiday appeared quite expensive when I first booked, everythin g was included and it was very good value. An excellent holiday for a single person". Cortona  September 2015 

OUR TUTOR WAS EXCELLENT

"This Holiday was a well-balanced combination of tuition and time to visit local attractions. Our Tutor was excellent both in the more formal 'classes' and in the tuition whilst painting 'in the field'. She was available at all times, and was ready to spend time with each of us. I greatly admired her own work and found it mos t useful in attempting to improve my own work". - Montefalco September 2015 

DELICIOUS ITALAN FOOD

"Well organized and a good balance of tuition and wonderful excursions with delicious Italian food and wine". -  Cortona September 2015

ENJOYED MYSELF MORE THAN I EXPECTED

"I just wanted to put on record how much I admired your holiday package and enjoyed myself more than I expected.  I will be looking next year for another week, this time in Lake Garda. I shall just have to hope  you don’t sell out in June to quickly.  Thanks again, Sheila". Cortona September 2015 - Phil Harris

SIMPLY LOVED IT

"I simply loved it ... Probably would go to another venue next time. Lovely views, lovely people, suburb organisation and generally marvellous. Thanks so much" - Saragano September 2015 - Ann Hutley

A HOLIDAY OF GREAT REMEMBRANCE

"I really enjoyed my painting holiday with you, the day we eat the food the cookies made, was fun, Very good tutor in Liz Cochran. Very good food indeed, Comfortable bedrooms, good service from the waiters to the receptionist and kitchen staff. Altogether a holiday of great remembrance. Thank you for organiz ing such a lovely week" - Saragano September 2015 Clare

 

APPRECIATED THE CARE YOU TOOK

"As someone who has knee problems,  I truly appreciated the care you took in providing us with a taxi service. * Oh my gosh, learning about the capital city of Umbria, Assisi, and its history, was marvelous. We fortunately had Marco, an enthusiastic historian to accompany us during our tour of the beautiful Basilica of Saint Francis. Similarly, Visiting Bevagna ( Mevania, the Etruscan-Oscan settleman) was equally interesting and the Medieval Festival, exciting. Dinner, in Ristorante, Oscar, was superb! Most of all, I loved the attention Sarah was able to afford us, as the painting group was smaller and thus she was able to devote more individual time to us. Sarah was ever present, and very devoted to all guests regardless of whether they were " painters " or not.  It was a wonderful trip and you were truly a gracious hostess. Thank you. I look forward to future trips." - Cortona and Montefalco (2 weeks) June 2015

SARAH MADE MY VACATION A HUGE SUCCESS

"Sarah is an amazing person and gives 200 percent into everything she does. She went well above the scope of instruction and took great pains to make sure each guest was having their needs met. I liked her approach to tuition, I also like that there are other art materials to try, especially the opportunity to experiment with dry point etching.and printmaking. Sarah is very good at being flexible for the guests that have different artistic directions or have special needs. She really made my vacation a huge success".  - Montefalco June 2015

HOPE TO DO IT AGAIN NEXT YEAR

"I enjoyed all! it was a wonderful experience in all. The people were warm and friendly and we enjoyed all accents. It was great fun. Hope to do it again next year. Sheila was very helpful". - Montefalco June 2015

WHEN CAN WE COME AGAIN

"Wonderful. Good company, excellent tuition (both cooking and painting) and a lovely hotel. When can we come again?!!" - Saragano June 2015

 

SUPERBLY ORGANISED

"It was a superbly organised and highly enjoyable week in which I learned a lot. The location was wonderful, the excursions enjoyable, and Fiona, was a brilliant tutor and a great person. I would say, reflecting the comments of some other guests, that maybe there could be more flexibility in the meals. Not everyone wants to sit down to four or five courses at lunch or dinner - either because they want more painting time, or they don't want to eat that much, or they find the socialising a bit of a strain. But overall thank you and congratulations on having conceived such a wonderful week".- Saragano June 2015

OUTSTANDING

"Overall excellent. There did seem to be a general feeling that perhaps a 3 course meal at lunch wasn't necessary - perhaps a buffet containing different salads might have been better. Otherwise, outstanding". - Saragano June 2015

A MEMORABLE VACATION

"The setting and hotel were beautiful and serene. The hotel staff was helpful and caring. The food was way too good...I had to eat it all! Fiona was a wonderful teacher and coach and made me (and all of us) feel like worthy artists. Although I enjoyed our excursions and long multi course lunches and dinners , it left little time to concentrate on painting. It felt as if we needed another week to fit in everything comfortably. I very much enjoyed the company of the other participants and thought it was an extraordinary group. A memorable vacation". - Saragano June 2015

I WILL ALWAYS REMEMBER WITH FONDNESS MY WEEK I CORTONA

“The overall experience was very good.  I liked the hotel, my room was pleasant and the facilities good. The grounds were in good order and one was able to find a quiet spot if one wanted to. The staff at the hotel were really nice and helpful and I would particularly mention Margarita, who was lovely.  Sarah was lovely, as before, and gave encouragement and assistance without being overbearing, she is a sweet and kind person. I enjoyed the outings, all of them and the day a Villa Laura was very special. I thought Cortona amazing, I loved Montepulciano and the visit to the vineyard was excellent. Sheila you are a special lady and what you do is good, I like the style and standards that you work to, and I have enjoyed my two trips, with possibly more to come. Following my bereavement your holidays have helped me to cope and it Is a good way to meet new and interesting people.  I will always remember with fondness my week in Cortona, thank you". - Cortona June 2015

MOST ENJOYABLE WEEK

"Once again a most enjoyable week. The excursions were very good especially the day spent at Villa Laura which was a rare privilege . Looking forward to reading details of next year's Lake Garda venue!" - Cortona June 2015

A GREAT RECIPE FOR A LOVELY HOLIDAY

"Again a great recipe for a relaxing, lovely holiday in a beautiful setting with opportunity to develop our skills. We enjoyed the setting and tours. Fiona was a lovely person who gave tremendous energy into inspiring us in our art. We enjoyed some lovely wines and the day trip to the beautiful villa where they filmed 'Under the Tuscan sun' was a memorable experience. Rome airport was not so good because of the recent fire - pretty chaotic". - Cortona June 2015

BEST HOLIDAY I HAVE BEEN ON

"Although it was my first time in italy i found it to be very satisfying in all aspects of the holiday there was a good balance between painting and free time and i believe it was the best holiday i have been on and i will be going back. most enjoyable experience could not be bettered". - Venice May 2015 

I HAD A WONDERFUL TIME

"My second painting holiday and I had a wonderful time.  Venice is a dream city and it was like being in a film.  I enjoyed the varied restaurants and locations with the opportunity to visiting some fineart galleries and churches.  The opera was magical.  Fiona, as always, was an inspiration and this holiday has encouraged me to join a regular painting class".  Venice May 2015

 

WONDERFUL PAINTING HOLIDAY

"A very BIG thank you for all your hard work in organising such a wonderful painting holiday in Venice.  I did appreciate all the advice and information you sent beforehand which was so useful. Fiona was a superb artist and so helpful both with group and individual input on location and at the hotel.     She has a lovely warm and inspiring personality.  I didn't know Venice so was delighted with the various venues we were taken to and members of the group were lovely in sharing their knowledge alongside Fiona's input. The restaurants were great and very welcoming and the food delicious ( a few pounds have sadly gone on as a result!). There were so many good fish dishes to chose from.  I hope to join you again in the future on another of your holidays and have been recommending you to painting friends" - Christine D. - Venice May 2015

 

MOST ENJOYABLE EXPERIENCE

"I found the combination of good organisation, excellent tuition, comfortable hotel, interesting tours, flexibility of plans, good food and lovely fellow holiday makers meant that I had a most enjoyable experience. Fiona was very informative, inspiring and encouraging.....a lovely person. Thank you Sheila, Fiona and Tom!" - Kim T. - Florence April 2015


LOVED EVERY MINUTE

"Loved every minute, excellent tuition, good company, made new friends.  Ideal for people on their own.  Very well organised". Florence April 2015


SURPASSED ALL EXPECTATIONS

"The holiday surpassed all expectations.  I really enjoyed the lecture at the British Institute with Jeremy Boudreau he made it so interesting.  It made me think about going back to school !!  Also the amount of priceless pictures we saw blows your mind away". Angela Hudson - Florence March 2015   

 

WHOLE HOLIDAY MAGICAL

"The whole holiday was magical. The tutors at the Studio were wonderful, generous of their time, energy and expertise, from painting and sculpture to first aid!  Once again a wonderful experience, quite different from the 'countrysde' holidays, but for me a perfect balance and a rich experience to 'kick start' my painting. Thank you Sheila".  Joan Thompson - Florence March 2015


A HOLIDAY TO BE REMEMBERED

"Overall it was a holiday to be remembered and enjoyed forever". - Florence March 2015


 WONDERFUL

"I just wanted to drop you a note and say what a wonderful time I had last week. Never have I been on such a well organised holiday . You had arranged absolutely everything just perfectly - even the company! Everyone in the group got on so well and we all had such a laugh together.  And Fiona! - well what can I say- she is just the best and most encouraging teacher one could wish for- a real gem. Wonderful."

Moira P - Saragano Sep.2014


EVERYTHING TOP NOTCH

"We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Umbria.  Everything was top notch. John is  looking forward to receiving the recipes so he can get going.  We will look out for next year's courses. Thank you once again".        Brenda W - Saragano Sep. 2014


SPECIAL FIRST TIME PAINTING HOLIDAY

"Just want to say I really enjoyed my time in Italy. It was a very special first time painting holiday for me. John enjoyed the experience too and we have both progressed significantly in our creative hobbies. The hotel was lovely and it's the sort of vacation we would have arranged for ourselves in terms of comfort and wonderful location but with the added benefit of a group of interesting people and charm of Jeremy and Rob. Felt privileged to have Jeremy's wisdom and experience.".  Ailsa Dooley - Montefalco June 2014

 

FAVOURITE HOLIDAY

“Thank you SO much. It must have been one of my favourite holidays. The days went too fast ! The rest of the group were great fun and Sarah was so enthusiastic and encouraging. What a great idea it was to bring her printing press I feel proud to have learnt a new skill from her. I will be back next year”. Barbara Caston – Saragano June 2014

 

SUPER HOLIDAY

“Many thanks for a super holiday. I must admit the first couple days I was struggling with painting. Sarah's patience got me through and she taught me an awful lot of things I had no idea about. The problem with the place is that everywhere you look there is beauty”. Alison Hayhurst – Saragano 2014

 

WANT TO DO ANOTHER COURSE

“Just to say how pleased I am to have joined the course in Saragano. It was a good experience in a wonderful location, and a lovely friendly group of people. I thought that Sarah was excellent. She was helpful, encouraging, getting us to try new ideas and supportive. She was also a lovely personality, with a good sense of fun and involved herself completely with the group. I would like to think that I could do another course with her at some time”. Trevor Redman – Saragano June 2014

 

WAS GREAT

“The week in Montefalco was great - such a beautiful setting, comfortable hotel, delicious food and wine and lovely company. Jeremy was great fun and clearly a very clever artist”. Anthony Pritchard – Montefalco June 2014

 

ORGANISATION FIRST CLASS

"The organisation of the holiday (with all the work that that must have taken in the background) was first class.  In addition, it was such a lovely group to be part of, that Pat and I felt our experience in Venice was one of the very best holidays we have had. The acid test would be 'would we come back' and the answer is yes" Chris Taylor - Venice 2014 


OUTSTANDING TEACHER

"Fiona is an outstanding teacher.  She has encouraged and taught me a huge amount and although I was the novice of the group she was so encouraging.  I will keep going.  It was a privilege to be taught by her.  The group was the perfect size.  The hotel was splendid - delightful.  Staff could not be more helpful and the rooms beautifully clean and the food was amazing.  Thank you very much.  I would be delighted to hear about your trips for next year.


WONDERFUL MEMORIES

"Once again I have returned from Italy with wonderful memories of a very special week.  The holiday at La Ghirlanda was one of the very best I have had, with an excellent tutor and brilliant company.  The food at the hotel was the best yet too, so healthy and delicious I couldn’t leave a thing!  And the staff worked so hard to tend to our every need and to make us all feel welcome!  Thank you so much for enabling me to re-book; it was just the holiday I needed. Thanks again, Sheila".  Carol Leverett - Saragano - September 2013


BEST HOLIDAY I HAVE EVER HAD

"It was one of the best holidays I have ever had, combining sympathetic tuition, lovely scenery and good company". Tony Terras - Saragano - September 2013


A WONDERFUL HOLIDAY

"Thank you for another lovely holiday.  Villa Pambuffetti is a lovely slice of Italy and Alessandra and Mauro are great.  The food was excellent (my only complaint, I now have to go on a diet).  Great group of people – we all got on so well.  Lots of laughs.  Food, wine, friendship,  sunshine, activities - a wonderful holiday".  Thank you. Maggie Miller - Saragano June 2013.

 

THE HOTEL IS A GEM

"Dear Sheila,  Thanks for a wonderful week in Saragano.  The hotel is a gem and the cooking course was A1. The hotel food was excellent, not one dish that we disliked and even the breakfast choice was much more extensive than at other Italian hotels I have stayed in – not the usual limited cheese/ham/fruit.  Good crowd of people and good mix of ages and experience.  The bar in the village and the Friday evening music is something to be highlighted in your Program.  Fiona is also a gem, she must be if she persuaded me to draw for the first time in 50 years since taking ‘O’ level Art when I was 17.  Such a lovely person who instils enthusiasm.  I would be interested in going to La Ghirlanda again.

Regards, Richard - Saragano June 2013